top of page

Sweet Caroline Scout

This week as gone by in a blur! We have a new puppy, and I don't know if "puppy brain" is a thing, no wait, yes, it is definitely a thing because I have it in a major way. Yesterday I lost my cell phone for about two hours. I knew that it was somewhere in the house. I retraced my steps, looking in all the obvious places. No phone. I couldn't call my number because we haven't had a landline for about three years. That is not normally a problem No one ever called the landline except people I didn't want to talk to. I'm sorry if you make your living doing telemarketing or cold calling for charities, but I really don't enjoy those conversations. They usually come when I am stepping into the shower, about to burn something under the broiler, or just generally indisposed. One other time in the last three years I needed a landline. I had left my cell phone in my classroom, and I had no way to call my husband to retrieve it for me. Then I remembered the other great modern invention, email. Yes, I emailed my husband at his office asking him to bring home my cell phone. Thank goodness he actually read it before he left for the day. See what I mean about puppy brain, I almost forgot what I was trying to say! When I finally found my cell phone, guess where it was? No, not the fridge, although that would be funny. Right smack in plain sight on the dining room table. Yep. Right there. I must have walked by it a dozen times and if my puppy were able to reach the table, I would have sworn she moved it. Look at this face. Please disregard the dog kennel and such in the background. Two words: puppy brain.

We had a lot of fun last Saturday doing a name reveal on Facebook. I mean who says folks having babies are the only ones who can do a reveal game? Even though you already know her name, here are the cute clues and pictures.

Clue #1

We have 3 clues, one for each of her names. Clue number 1: Big Daddy Nick's Soppin' Sauce. God was just showing off when he made the pig!

This is one of many of my Southern cookbooks and a jar of Big Daddy Nick's Soppin' Sauce which was the prize for correctly guessing our baby's name.

This is Nick's hint for clue #1: Here's a little help if you're puzzled. If you know my sauces, you can get it in the south, but you won't find it in the north.

Clue # 2: Theresa's favorite hat and gnome

This is of course, my Carolina Girl (UNC) visor and a Tom Clark gnome whose name is "Tarheel"

Clue #3 We love a good story, don't you? Theresa spent a lot of time reading and teaching from these books.

Another great clue. I am by trade an English teacher. I spent seven years teaching 9th grade.

Here's a recap picture of all the clues.

And.....the big reveal

Obviously she is Sweet, and a Tarheel like her momma, and Scout, well, Harper Lee just gave me such inspiration that I couldn't help myself! When you see her prancing around with that tail in the air, she is a little adventurer. She will surely lead the way as soon as she gets big enough for the neighborhood walks.

Congratulations to our friend Jennifer Davis Doyle for coming as close as anyone could! She guessed Sweet Carolina Scout and was excited to take home some delicious BBQ sauce for her husband to use on his new Big Green Egg.

I hope you enjoyed following along with our little game. Hopefully, next week will be less blurry. Who am I kidding? I may not resurface for another week.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Young Living Essential Oils

Follow my Journey to the Simple Life

I am passionate about Jesus, my family, and living more simply.

Read More About me
My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page